Colleen Hoover – Confess

Confess“If I knew birthday presents made her this excited, I would have bought her one the day I met her. And every day since then.” 

Synopsis: Auburn Reed is determined to rebuild her shattered life and she has no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to become deeply attracted to the studio’s enigmatic artist, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is hiding a huge secret. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it—but can she do it?

Review: Colleen Hoover is one of my favourite authors & I can read her books several times without getting bored, I think this was the 3rd time I read Confess. And I loved it just as much as I did the first time.

Confess has a different idea about it that I really loved, the whole paintings based on or captioned by confessions made by people gave the book a unique aspect as compared to other books, at least to me it did. Colleen mentions in the beginning of the book that the confessions we read within the novel are true confessions that were anonymously submitted by readers which was wow. I absolutely loved that there were pictures of a few of the paintings in the book, gave me something to imagine in my head.

This book was heart breaking, tear jerking, funny & super cute. I laughed so hard at the “My name is Owen Mason Gentry” “Your initials are really OMG?” HAHAHAHA. Now every time I type or read omg, this pops into my head & I end up laughing & looking like I’ve lost my mind.

And one of the many moments that made my heart go “AWWWWWWWWWW”:

“I saw the way you looked at him, Auburn. I saw the way you smiled at him. You smiled at him the same way my mother used to smile at me. And I don’t care what that woman may think of you as a mother; I barely know you, and I could feel how much you love that little boy.”

And ohmygod the number of times I wanted to go all psycho killer on Trey:

idk i wasnt counting the meme

Like how the hell dare you hold Auburn’s little boy over her head as a threat to make her date you. “I’m not Adam. I’m Trey. And I suggest if you want to continue being the half-assed mother you are to my nephew, you’ll say whatever the fuck I tell you to say.”

Also, I really liked that the last chapter of the book revealed how Owen knew Auburn from before she showed up at his art studio/gallery because in just the second chapter he says, “She’s here. Right here, standing in my studio, staring at my art. I never thought I’d see her again. I was so convinced that the likelihood of our paths ever crossing was minimal, I can’t even remember the last time I thought about her. But here she is, standing right in front of me. I want to ask her if she remembers me, but I know she doesn’t. how could she when we never even exchanged words?”

And lastly, I felt so sad for Owen when it’s revealed that he went to jail (even though just for 90 days) for his father to save him from the possession of Oxy charge that would’ve ruined his father’s career as a lawyer but I’m so glad his dad finally decided to go to rehab & get better & be a better father to his son. “Callahan Gentry and his son are going to be okay” *cue the tears of happiness & pride*.

Rating: 💎💎💎💎💎

Leave a Reply

