Jenny Han – Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Always and Forever“Never say no when you really want to say yes.”

Synopsis: Jenny Han is an American writer of children’s & teen novels. Her notable works include The Summer I Turned Pretty (2009) & To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (2014). Always and Forever, Lara Jean is the 3rd book in the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before Trilogy. The story is set in Lara Jean’s senior year, she’s head over heels for her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next-door neighbour, Ms. Rothschild & Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding. Although Lara Jean is having fun & keeping busy with planning her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions that she must make. Most importantly, her college of choice & what her choice would mean for Peter & her. After watching her sister Margot go through these pains, it is now Lara Jean’s time to graduate high school & leave for college & leave her family – & possibly the boy she loves – behind.

Review: Always and Forever, Lara Jean is a good book, I liked its story-line. I just wish there was something more to it, I mean the big problem that Lara Jean had throughout was choosing a college that would keep her close to Peter. When she didn’t get into UVA, her next option was to go to another college & then transfer to UVA. I totally understand the fact that being in a serious relationship is a factor in choosing a college, most times it’s the biggest factor but I was so glad that she went with her own wishes & decided to go to William & Mary & actually give it a proper chance & not just thinking of it as a temporary place before she transfers. Margot in almost ¾ of the book was being annoying about the whole Trina dating her dad but I guess that’s understandable when you feel left out, I’m glad that they moved past it & built a good relationship & happily saw their father get married. I’m also really glad that their dad has throughout tried to keep the girls close to their Korean culture by cooking traditional foods, by planning a trip to Korea for the summer, that’s very important.

Rating:  💎💎💎.5

2 thoughts on “Jenny Han – Always and Forever, Lara Jean

  1. I just finished this book too! My boyfriend and I met in high school and ended up at different colleges AND I went to UNC just like Lara Jean did, so this book was really nostalgic for me. However, if I hadn’t had so much in common with the main character, I think I would’ve been looking for a little more from it too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

