Jenny Han – To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

To All The Boys I've Loved Before“It’s scary when it’s real. When it’s not just thinking about a person, but, like, having a real live person in front of you with, like, expectations. And wants.”

Synopsis: Jenny Han is an American writer of children’s & teen novels. Her notable works include The Summer I Turned Pretty (2009) & To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (2014). To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is #1 in the Trilogy, followed by PS I Still Love You & Always and Forever, Lara Jean. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is about a 16 year old Lara Jean Song who keeps her love letters in a hat box that her mother gave her. However, these aren’t love letters that she has received; these are the ones she has written. One for every boy she has ever loved – 5 in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart & soul & says all the things that she would never say in real life, because her letters are meant for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed & suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from non-existent to out of control.

Review: I have never read any other books written by Jenny Han but after reading this trilogy, I think I will. I read all three books in one sitting guys, that should count for something. I really enjoyed the book, it was funny & cute & just one of those books that fed my cheesy romantic book moods. I am totally a hopeless romantic & I find such books to be super-duper cute. I love the Songs girls; their family is super cute. When Lara Jean’s hatbox goes missing & her letters somehow get sent, Peter Kavinsky, one of the 5 boys, receives his & decides to confront Lara Jean about it. EMBARRASSING, I could totally imagine that feeling of “dear Earth, please open up & swallow me whole, RIGHT NOW.” What I didn’t like was Lara Jean having feelings for Josh, her sister’s boyfriend & then ex-boyfriend. Because Lara Jean still has *some* feelings for Josh, she decides to get into a fake relationship contract with Peter because he recently broke up with his girlfriend Gen & he wanted to make her jealous. Which worked until obviously, the two developed feelings for each other. When they finally decided to try things out officially & then broke up, I was like oh hell. The book doesn’t really end on a cliff-hanger but like things aren’t right, if that makes any sense. The book also shows the importance of the strong bond between sisters & that sometimes you may need to take an adult like approach to things. I really appreciated their dad for being such an amazing dad, always supporting them & taking care of them especially after their mother passed away.

Rating: 💎💎💎💎

Leave a Reply

