Stephanie Perkins – Isla and the Happily Ever After

Isla and the Happily Ever After“If you were my girl?” he says. “I’d steal you away from the fancy gatherings and take you somewhere less pretentious.”

Synopsis: Stephanie Perkins is an American author known for her Anna and the French Kiss series. Isla and the Happily Ever After is #3 in the Anna and the French Kiss trilogy. Isla and the Happily Ever After is the story of a hopeless romantic Isla who has had a crush on Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. After a surprise encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance may be closer than Isla ever imagined. As the two begin their senior year back in France, Isla & Josh are faced with challenges that every couple must face, including family drama, college future uncertainties, & the very possibility of being apart.

Review: Finally, after two books of not being that happy, Isla and the Happily Ever After makes a good book to read. Even though the story-line isn’t something so new. It’s one of the classic plots in the romance genre. One of the things I appreciate about the book is spreading awareness about Autism or high functioning Autism (also known as Asperger’s syndrome). I really liked how Isla explained that it’s not a problem, it just isn’t something that can be cured, it’s just that his (Kurt) brain works a little differently. In terms of being super-rational, literal meaning sarcasm & metaphors, difficulty in reading people’s faces, is so honest even when the person he’s talking to may not want him to be aren’t something he’s best at. He, however, loves routine meaning he dislikes change without being prepared for it well in advance. Also, I think Isla’s breaking up with Josh when she felt that she had to end things before he could, is something some people could relate to.

“Because if it hurts this much now,” I say, “I can’t imagine how much it’ll hurt when you come to this realisation yourself.”

All the sudden distance between the two makes Isla overthink, something that I & maybe others have done too.

“He hasn’t given me a chance to doubt him, but the more time we spend apart, the more clearly I see that our relationship was founded on unstable ground. His loneliness. How long will it take before he realises that having me as a girlfriend was easier than being alone? I was convenient. I was a distraction.

Josh is a romantic. He likes being in love, and he craves love to fill the void left by his absentee parents. Maybe our relationship didn’t happen quickly because we’re perfect for each other, but because we each got swept away by it – him because of his insatiable need, me because of my pre-existing crush. Did those three years of longing cloud my perception of reality? How well do I really know him? Since I’ve last seen him in person, I’ve been faced with several incarnations that I didn’t even know existed.”

“You’ve never been able to believe that he could like you as much as you like him. You were afraid he’d dump you. So you picked those fights to get a conversation going in which you could dump him yourself.”

But I’m so glad that she finally came to her senses & they are back together 😭😭

“Thanks to Josh, I am taking risks, I’ve learned that if I never leave those areas of my life that feel comfortable, I’ll never have a chance at a greater happiness. Accepting Dartmouth was a risk. Asking my sister to hang out with me was a risk. But the biggest risk of all is Josh himself. I don’t yet have the courage to give him the opportunity to say no. It’s impossible, the not-knowing, but it’s better than getting the wrong answer.”

The book was really funny, I finished it under 4 hours. I couldn’t put it down. I was glad to see Josh’s friends from Anna and the French Kiss & Lola and the Boy Next Door make their appearances in the book.

Rating: 💎💎💎💎

Leave a Reply

