Ally Condie – Crossed (#2 Matched Trilogy)

Crossed“I will be strong enough to go without the tablet. But there are other things I’m not strong enough to go without, and I intend to fight for them.”

Ally Condie is an American writer of young adult fiction. The Matched trilogy published 2010-2012 is a science fiction dystopia. Crossed is #2 in the Matched trilogy, followed by Reached. Crossed continues the story of Cassia, the rules have changed. Ky has been taken & she will sacrifice everything to find him. When Cassia discovers that Ky has escaped to the wild frontiers beyond the Society, hope rises. But nothing is as it seems, a rebellion is on the rise.

I could not wait for this book to end; the first half is Cassia & Ky in two different places: Girl’s work camp & the Outer Provinces. And then, Cassia finds out that Ky’s in the Outer Provinces so she travels to find him but by the time she reaches there, Ky has already escaped to the Carvings. Cassia follows him to the Carvings by the help of another boy that knew Ky before he escaped. Ky & Cassia are in the same Carvings, it’s like two parallel lines, they are just in different parts of it 😒. When they finally meet, Cassia’s obsession with The Rising creates a little distance between the two because Ky says: “This is the one thing I can’t do for you. I can’t join the Rising.” At this point I’m like, finally some drama, but what happens? I run to help Hunter with the boat. It’s for her. If what she wants is the Rising, I will help her reach it.

When Cassia realises that Indie (her friend from the Girl’s work camp) is in love with Xander. What’s her thought?

“Xander is the kind of person an Aberration can never have. A golden boy, as close to perfect as they come in the Society.

He’s not her Match. He’s mine.

With Xander, I could have a family, a good job, be loved, be happy, live in a Borough with clean streets and neat lives. With Xander, I would be able to do the things I always thought I would.

But with Ky, I do things I never thought I could.

I want both.”

In book 1, she was all set to say adios to Xander to be with Ky. She said that she didn’t love Xander the way she loves Ky. She risked everything to be with Ky. Book 2, she’s confused, torn between the two. Suddenly when Indie doesn’t deny the fact that she’s in love with Xander, Cassia wants both.

Lastly, I normally like the switching in PoVs but in Crossed, I kept getting confused between who’s PoV am I reading? I kept flipping the pages to go back to the start of the chapter to see who it is. It was difficult to distinguish between the two.

Rating: 💎💎

Leave a Reply

