Khaled Hosseini – A Thousand Splendid Suns

A Thousand Splendid Suns“‎I know you’re still young but I want you to understand and learn this now. Marriage can wait, education cannot. You’re a very very bright girl. Truly you are. You can be anything you want Laila. I know this about you. And I also know that when this war is over Afghanistan is going to need you as much as its men maybe even more. Because a society has no chance of success if its women are uneducated Laila. No chance.”

Khaled Hosseini is an Afghani American novelist & physician. His books: The Kite Runner (2003), A Thousand Splendid Suns (2007) & And The Mountains Echoed (2013) all have spent weeks on the top of The New York Times Bestseller List. A Thousand Splendid Suns is a contemporary, historical fiction about the lives of two women, Mariam & Laila, who are born a generation apart brought together by war, by loss & by fate. Living through the dangers on the streets of Kabul, the two women form a bond of sisters, of mother-daughter to each other. Mariam is born an illegitimate child, added to the abuse she endures during her marriage; her life is filled with suffering. Laila, comparatively lives a privileged life during her youth. Their paths intersect when Laila is forced to accept Rasheed’s marriage proposal, Mariam’s husband.

This is the very first book I read by Khaled Hosseini, I must say I was blown away. Such an incredible book, written in a glorious way. Really showcases the lives of thousands of people that are affected greatly by war, so many people have lost their loved ones in a heart-breaking way. An illegitimate child, an abusive marriage are topics touched upon in the book & I feel that it added a lot more emotion, a bigger connection to so many. I started reading this book on the recommendation on one of my best friends & I’m SO glad. I finished this book within 2 days (I’ve also read it twice), it’s an amazing book & everyone should read it at least once! The refugee crisis is one that has become the world’s most severe crisis. War, hunger & oppression have forced millions to abandon their homes & flee, not just Afghanistan but so many countries around the world. I’ve cried, I’ve felt the anger & the pain that I imagine Mariam & Laila going through & my heart breaks because there are thousands of people around the world that are living through war, through the loss of their loved ones & through so many terrible things yet, there are so many countries that refuse refugees to come in & create a better life away from so much sadness & death.

Rating: 💎💎💎💎💎

Leave a Reply

